In an increasingly data-driven industry, marketers have to objectively demonstrate the efficiency of their actions with KPIs. However, many marketers feel unsure about which relevant metrics should be measured… Toucan Toco’s experts help you choose the most valuable marketing KPIs to improve your marketing strategy!
What are Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)?
KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) are quantifiable measures used to evaluate how effectively a marketing campaign succeed. They are valuable resources to make decisions and prove returns on your marketing spend. Therefore, after planning and implementing a marketing strategy, the final step is to measure its results.
Furthermore measuring marketing KPIs is fundamental in order to readjust your marketing actions. Indeed measuring the right marketing KPIs allows you not only to evaluate the effectiveness of your marketing efforts but to enforce your strategy over the long term.
How to pick marketing KPIs that matter to your company?
It is essential to choose efficient marketing KPIs in accordance with your business. Indeed, tracking the wrong KPIs won’t drive actionable results and will cause a huge waste of time.
In order to choose efficient marketing KPIs, it is first necessary to answer some questions. What is the core business in my company? What results do I need to achieve for my company to grow? Do I want to sell more merchandise to generate leads or to generate subscriptions? All this information will help you to choose marketing KPIs which match with your company objectives and environment.
In this article, we have decided to focus on KPIs that matter for your online marketing strategy.
The 10 Most Important online marketing KPIs you should be tracking
#1 – ROMI (Return on Marketing Investment)
The purpose of measuring ROMI is to evaluate if marketing expenses contribute to profits. If you have a positive marketing return on investment, it means that your campaigns are bringing in more money than you are spending on them.
Knowing the ROMI of your campaigns also helps you to better understand where you need to allocate your marketing budgetto get the best results. For example, if one of your campaigns generates a 15% return on marketing investment while the other generates 70%, it goes without saying that in the future you will have to invest your most profitable budget!
How to Measure ROMI?
The short-term ROMI is calculated by comparing revenue profits against marketing investment. However, this calculation only takes into account the direct impact of marketing investments on a company’s revenues.
Long-term ROMI can be used to determine other less tangible aspects of marketing effectiveness. Indeed, if a marketing campaign does not generate a lot of sales, but increases mentions in social media, is it still considered a failure? It is therefore relevant to consider measures such as brand awareness in their ROMI indicators in order to quantify less tangible benefits and target future campaigns more effectively.
#2 – Lead conversion rate
The lead conversion rate represents the percentage of individuals or businesses that were potentially interested in purchasing your product or service and that end up converting to opportunities. Knowing your conversion rate is essential to understand how your sales funnel is performing and what marketing campaign has the best repercussions on your company’s ROI.
How to calculate Lead conversion rate?
To calculate the –lead conversion rate you need to divide the number of leads converted to opportunities in a time period to the number of leads created in this same period and multiply the result by 100.
Lead conversion rate = (The number of leads converted in a specific time period /the number of leads created in this same period) x 100
-For example, if 100 leads were created in January, and 25 leads converted to opportunities in this time period, then your lead conversion rate would be (25 / 100) x 100 = 25%
#3 – Conversion rate by marketing channel
In order to maximize your lead conversion rate, it is essential to identify which marketing channels brings you the most qualified leads. Sales prospecting? Emailing? Events? Inbound? It is necessary to calculate the average conversion rate for each of these channels to give priority to the most efficient and improve those which brings fewer opportunities.
#4 – Cost Per Lead
Cost per lead is the cost you pay to acquire a prospect through Internet advertising. Knowing your cost per prospect allows you to make more strategic marketing decisions: these metrics will help you evaluate the effectiveness of your actions and keep control over your advertising budget.
How to calculate Cost per lead?
To calculate your Cost per Lead you must divide your cost for each lead generation campaign on any paid channel by the total number of leads generated by that campaign.
Dividing your cost per lead by marketing channel is a plus: it allows you to evaluate which campaign had the best performance and which channels you should prioritize.
Cost per lead = The cost for each lead generation / The total number of leads generated on that campaign
#5 – Customer Lifetime Value (CTV)
Customer Lifetime Value is a prediction of the profits generated by a company throughout its relationship with each particular customer. Increasing the Customer Lifetime Value will allow you to maintain a link with your customers, reduce the rate of disengagement and enhance their satisfaction. It will also help you to estimate a reasonable cost per acquisition.
How to calculate Customer Lifetime Value?
There are several different ways to calculate CLV. Indeed, each business is likely to adopt different variables for its calculation, in coherence with their objectives or target segmentation. However, the most straightforward way to calculate CLV is to subtract the initial cost of acquiring them from the revenue earned from a customer.
Customer Lifetime Value = The initial cost to acquire a customer – The revenue earned from a customer
#6 Organic traffic and SEA traffic.
Organic traffic refers to the traffic on your website generated by free search engines such as Google or Bing or Yahoo. It is a valuable resource that usually represents more than half of your website’s total traffic.
SEA refers to the traffic generated by paid marketing, thanks to pay-per-click ads. On the one hand, SEA is a great tool because it permits complete control over your online campaign and gives you instant traffic. On the other hands, the disadvantage of the SEA is the monetary cost.
How to calculate organic traffic and SEA?
#7 Website Traffic to Marketing Leads
Website traffic is an essential metric, but by itself, it could be misleading! For example, if you’re getting a lot of traffic, but aren’t converting visitors into leads, there is something wrong in your strategy.
The key is to contrast your website traffic to other measures. By contrasting website traffic to marketing leads, you could evaluate the efficiency of your marketing actions and their impact on your company’s ROI.
How to calculate Website Traffic to Marketing Leads?
Your website traffic to marketing lead is the percentage of visitors who turned into leads. To measure this KPI, you need to divide the number of unique visits by the number of leads generated over the same time period. For example, if you have 1,000 website visitor in January and 100 new leads in this time frame, that means your website traffic to lead ratio is 10% conversion rate.
Website Traffic to Marketing Leads = the number of unique visits on a specific time period / the number of leads generated over the same time period.
#8 Social media ROI
Tracking social media ROI is fundamental to evaluate your online marketing strategy performance. All your social media efforts should be trackable so you’re never scrambling at proving the value of a campaign. As with asserted regarding website traffic data, the social media reach must be put in perspective with its repercussions on conversion rates and the ROI, to achieve an optimal marketing strategy which goes beyond a notoriety objective.
How to calculate Social media reach to conversion rates?
To calculate social media ROI you must divide the revenue of each channel by the expenditures that went into them. Using dataviz reporting tool is a plus to better cross-reference with other data in order to take the good decision to improve your strategy.
Social media reach to conversion rates = The revenue generated from each channel / The expenditures made for each channel
#9 Email marketing open rate and click through rate
The other marketing KPIs that matter to measure your marketing campaigns are the mailing campaign performances. Several measures are needed to overview your mailing strategy :
- Email open rate
Email open rate is the percentage of people who opened an email campaign. This measure allows you to evaluate the relevance of your email subjects and bring to light the quality and the engagement of your mailing list.
To calculate the email open rate percentage you must divide the number of opened email by the number of emails delivered and multiply by 100.
For example, if you deliver an email to 100 contacts, and it is open by 50 of them, your email open rate will be 50%
Email open rate = (The number of opened email / The number of emails delivered) x 100
- Click through rate
Click through rate is the percentage of people who clicked on a link within an email. This measure allows for evaluating your call-to-action efficiency. To calculate your mailing campaign click-through rate you must divide the number of click on a link by the number of emails delivered and multiply by 100.
For example, if you send a message to 100 contacts and 20 of them click on a link in the email, your click-through rate is 20%.
Click through rate = (the number of click on a link / the number of emails delivered) x 100
#10 Click to open rate (CTOR)
The Click to open rate (CTOR) is a complementary measure to click through rate. The CTOR also corresponds to the ratio of emails in which the user clicked on a link, but in contrast with to the number of unique opens. This measure allows you to evaluate the effectiveness of your email’s content!
This metric is calculated by the number of unique clicks divided by the number of unique opens multiply by 100. A good CTOR will vary between 20 – 30%.
Click to open rate (CTOR) = The number of unique clicks / The number of unique opens x 100
How track of all those marketing KPIs without feeling overwhelmed?
The difficulty for a marketer is to pick all these marketing KPIs, through different tools, to be able to cross-reference and analyze them. This exercise is extremely time-consuming and requires a very good knowledge of measures that matter…
This is where dataviz reporting tools are very useful! These software solutions offer reporting and cross-reference analyze in a unique and intuitive dashboard.
Here at Toucan Toco, our mission is to tell Business Performance Stories through interactive Data and Data Storytelling! Our small apps are mobile, easy to use, made for action, and easy to set up in any information system.